In your hands….

Happy Friday lovely people!
So…the biggest and bestest thing I’ve found out on my little mission is that happiness is a choice. Yes you heard me right. It’s up to us! That should fill you with joy and excitement – it means however you’re feeling right now, whatever’s going on in your life, you have the means to be happy!
We can’t always control the events and circumstances in our life but the way we react and respond puts the power safely in our hands *pause your reading for a second and do a nice big Take-Me-Out-Paddy-McGuinness-style power grab…..go on, nobody’s watching* – now doesn’t that feel good!
Let me just give you a wee example….
I was opening a tin of chopped tomatoes yesterday with a terrible tin opener….it sprayed me with red juice not once but twice….on my freshly-washed, pastel pyjamas. Now I had a choice……do I get frustrated at myself, curse the tin opener and focus on the time I was going to have to spend cleaning it up, probably spiral into a grump for the evening and feel like rubbish OR do I laugh at the numpty I am to have managed to do exactly the same thing twice in a row….I went for the latter, laughed at myself, sponged my top clean and finished making dinner – didn’t think any more of it!
But that’s just tomato spray right….what about when bigger things happen I hear you say? Well in situations like that, it’s more important than ever to have control of your responses and reactions so you can get through.
Gratitude is a hugely helpful tool in tricky times. As the wisest man of them all, Albus Dumbledore, said “Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light”. As soon as we start to focus on what we do have, as opposed to what we don’t, we realise how wonderful our lives really are. How incredibly fortunate we are. How much we have to smile about.
I challenge you….next time you feel down or sad or a bit bleurgh (yes that definitely is a real word)….just sit, close your eyes and say “thank you for… [Fill in the blank]” – maybe start by listing 10 different things – and as you go, really feel your appreciation for each thing – think how different your life would be without it, how much you’d miss it, how much better your life is with it.
I’d just like to add that I am still working on consciously replacing negative thoughts with gratitude – I absolutely most definitely fall off the wagon sometimes and have down days, crying spouts, hormones, sobbing into my cereal etc! Re-programming a brain takes time and work, but it’s amazing how much better I feel already.
Try the challenge – I’d love to know if it makes you feel better….drop me a comment and let me know 😀
Lots of love xxxx

One thought on “In your hands….

Leave a Reply

